Toyota 86 Racing Series back (and better) for 2017

Toyota 86 Racing Series back (and better) for 2017

Toyota’s hugely popular 86 Racing Series kicked off a new season this week and it promises to be bigger and better than ever. 

Following its inaugural campaign last year – which was inundated and ultimately oversubscribed with competitors – Toyota’s grassroots motor racing series is back once more to help aspiring racing drivers potentially realise their dreams, and compete for a cool $125,000 in prize money.

The cost-effective, one-make series, which provides a platform on which promising drivers can hone their skills, will feature new drivers and new tracks, while holding true to its original winning formula as 2017 unfolds further.

Launched this week with a test session at the Sydney Motor Sport Park, the Toyota 86 Racing Series will continue to operate as an undercard to the Virgin Australia Supercars.

“There will be five events in 2017,” according to Toyota 86 Racing Series category administrator Neil Crompton.

“As for the cars, we’ve pretty much polished them and left them alone in 2017. We were able to produce bulletproof low-cost cars in the first year … and we were surprised at how little money was needed to propel the cars through the calendar year,” he added.

The premise of the series is simple: a field of identical race cars which are all (relatively) cheap to build, race and maintain, are piloted by a mixture of experienced older drivers and hungry youngsters. Tight technical regulations ensure a level-playing field is maintained throughout the series. Basically, win or lose, it’s all down to the driver.

Competitors will also be able to get driving tips from three professional drivers, who will participate in this year’s season, and participate in some of the on-track action.

Last year’s series winner, 18-year-old Will Brown, is now in the Super2 Series this year, the second-tier V8 Supercar series, where he has already making a splash, finishing inside the top-10 in his first three races.

Toyota Australia executive director Tony Cramb said: “I’m happy to confirm the prize pool remains the same at $125,000. The entry fee of $1500 per round is the lowest of any national series.”

The five 86 Racing Series events for 2017 will be as follows:

  • The Phillip Island SuperSprint (April 21–23)
  • Townsville 400 (July 7–9)
  • Sydney SuperSprint (August 18–20)
  • Bathurst 1000 (October 5–8)
  • Newcastle 500 (November, date TBC)

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published